研究方向
  • OLTP(线上事务处理)与HTAP(线上混合事务与分析)引擎

在单节点架构下,通过共享存储和状态的技术手段,将数据存储到多个节点上以实现拓容和事务处理的单机向上拓展能力。在多节点集群架构上,通过分片的技术手段构建分布式数据库以实现事务处理的集群向外拓展能力,同时通过GTM来进行事务并发的调节和数据读写一致性的控制HTAP引擎则实现了在一份数据上同时进行事务处理和分析处理的能力。

  • 多模/多态,OLAP(实时在线分析)的NoSQL / NewSQL数据库系统

面对结构复杂而内容丰富的多模/多态数据,数据库系统需要对这类结构化,半结构化和非结构化数据进行融合分析,整合与清洗;实现结构化的特征提取和处理,需要不断提升的NoSQL / NewSQL以及实时在线分析系统的适用性,性能和效率。

  • 数据安全与数据库系统安全

在传统的访问控制,防止SQL注入等基础上,一个核心挑战是如何在不牺牲数据库系统性能的前提下提高系统的安全和数据安全保护能力。数据库系统需要不断提高加密数据查询与更新(利用同态加密等相关技术),不经意随机存取,差分隐私等一系列关键技术在安全性和系统效率之间的平衡能力。安全硬件的快速发展也为发展安全数据库系统带来了新的机遇,例如如何利用英特尔SGX这样的安全硬件来构建新型加密数据库系统。

  • 自治化与智能数据库

通过分析系统运行环境状态和日志数据信息,利用机器学习手段建模,来实现动态系统参数调整和系统优化,减少系统DBA的运维成本。在数据库系统查询与分析优化器的关键模块上运用这些技术可以实现从规则优化器和初级的性能优化器向高级的机器学习模型为主的高纬度查询优化器的演变。机器学习技术也可以帮助系统建立更加准确高效的在线预警与实时监测系统,来实现智能的DBA运维管控和资源调配。海量结构化,半结构化与非结构化数据的分析建模则提出了如何建立深度数据分析的智能数据库系统的科研问题。

  • 新硬件加速与数据存储

数据库系统需要研发CPU / GPU / FPGA异构计算体系的计算流程,在优化多核高并行的数据查询与分析任务时,必须要考虑系统硬件的体系结构(例如NUMA架构),来减少数据移动并实现数据为中心的查询和分析模式。例如NVM和RDMA课题。

  • 数据库核心算法

数据库系统设计中的各个方向和各个层面都会涉及到一些核心的算法挑战,例如并发控制,数据处理,系统调度,近似计算,非结构化数据分析和特征提取等。有效的解决这些问题需要将算法设计思想与数据库系统的系统运行状态和特征有机的结合考虑,这要求数据库系统的核心算法构建不断地接受新挑战和迭代变化的要求。


产品及应用
  • 邮政/地产等行业解决方案

    万科和中国邮政通过使用分布式数据库水平扩展等核心能力,线性提升了整体数据库存储及计算容量处理能力,通过分布式事务处理引擎提供的数据库拆分能力,快速地支持二者核心业务系统迭代,大幅节省客户针对数据库层面的运维成本。

  • 国家重大项目技术支持

    支持公有云和专有云国家重大项目,例如上海城市大脑、国税等。


研究团队
李飞飞达摩院数据库与存储实验室负责人

犹他大学计算机系终身教授。曾获ACM、IEEE、Visa、Google、HP、华为等多个奖项,获IEEE ICDE 2014 10年最有影响力论文奖、ACM SIGMOD 2016最佳论文奖、ACM SIGMOD 2015最佳系统演示奖、IEEE ICDE 2004最佳论文奖、美国NSF Career Award、中国基金委海外重点研发奖,2018年ACM杰出科学家等。担任多个国际一流学术期刊和学术会议的编委、主席。

吴结生达摩院数据库与存储实验室高级研究员

俄亥俄州立大学计算机博士学位。2014年加入阿里云西雅图,任职存储基础平台和云存储的负责人。曾就职于微软 Azure 存储团队 (2008-2014年), Ask.com 基础设施团队(2004-2008年)和中国科学院计算技术研究所(国家智能计算机研究开发中心,1996-1999年)。研究兴趣包括大规模分布式系统和大数据处理和分析系统等。

曹伟达摩院数据库与存储实验室研究员

阿里云数据库团队负责人,计算机协会数据库专委会委员。在SIGMOD、VLDB、TSC等国际学术会议与期刊上发表多篇文章。研究领域包括分布式数据库与存储系统、大规模实时计算等。

许为善达摩院数据库与存储实验室研究员

美国加利福尼亚伯克利大学计算机博士,曾担任EMC Data Domain的CTO, 创办EMC备份恢复系统部门的研究组, 并是EMC Distinguished Engineer, 也曾在IBM Research从事数据库和存储技术的研究,获得IBM Master Inventor的荣誉。在存储相关领域发表了30多篇研究文章, 也被授予100多项发明专利。

占超群达摩院数据库与存储实验室研究员

集团数据库事业部 OLAP Platform负责人,从无到有打造大规模在线云分析产品AnalyticDB、Data Lake Analytics,有多年海量数据分析平台的研发经验,先后担任多个阿里巴巴以及专有云大数据商业项目总架构师。

谭剑达摩院数据库与存储实验室资深技术专家

曾先后任职IBM沃森实验室研究员和俄亥俄州立大学电子工程与计算机系助理教授。研究兴趣包括随机系统的数学建模与算法分析,分布式计算系统的设计实现与资源调度,优化算法的理论与应用。 四次获得国际会议最佳论文奖和哥伦比亚大学最佳博士论文奖,在多个著名学术会议中任执行委员会成员,在俄亥俄州立大学获美国自然科学基金支持。

谢炯达摩院数据库与存储空天数据库方向负责人

计算机协会数据库专委会委员。曾在浙江大学从事博士后研究,后就职于中科院资源与环境信息系统国家重点实验室,任副研究员。长期从事空间数据库、遥感图像数据库、移动对象数据库和NoSQL空间分布式系统研发。

汪晟达摩院数据库与存储实验室Research Scientist

新加坡国立大学计算机博士。曾留校从事博士后研究。研究成果发表于VLDB等多个数据库及相关领域顶级会议。研究方向主要涉及大规模数据管理系统的设计与优化,包括分布式数据库,数据分析平台及区块链系统等。


学术成果
论文
  • C. Wei, B. Wu, S. Wang, R. Lou, C. Zhan, F. Li, Y. Cai. AnalyticDB-V: A Hybrid Analytical Engine towards Query Fusion for Structured and Unstructured Data. VLDB 2020.
  • X. Yang, Y. Zhang, S. Wang, B. Yu, F. Li, Y. Li, W. Yan, LedgerDB: A Centralized Ledger Database for Universal Audit and Verification. VLDB 2020.
  • M. Ma, Z. Yin, S. Zhang, S. Wang, C. Zheng, X. Jiang, H. Hu, C. Luo, Y. Li, N. Qiu, F. Li, C. Chen, D. Pei. Diagnosing Root Causes of Intermittent Slow Queries in Cloud Databases. VLDB 2020.
  • W. Cao, Y. Gao, F. Li, S. Wang, B. Lin, K. Xu, X. Feng, Y. Wang, Z. Liu, G. Zhang. Timon: A Timestamped Event Database for Efficient Telemetry Data Processing and Analytics. SIGMOD 2020.
  • X. Yu, Y. Peng, F. Li, S. Wang, X. Shen, H. Mai, Y. Xie. Two-Level Data Compression using Machine Learning in Time Series Database. ICDE 2020.
  • T. Zhang, J. Wang, X. Cheng, H. Xu, N. Yu, G. Huang, T. Zhang, D. He, F. Li, W. Cao, Z. Huang, J. Sun. FPGA-Accelerated Compactions for LSM-based Key-Value Store. FAST 2020.
  • J. Chen, L. Chen, S. Wang, G. Zhu, Y. Sun, H. Liu, F. Li. HotRing: A Hotspot-Aware In-Memory Key-Value Store. FAST 2020.
  • C. Zhan, M. Su, C. Wei, X. Peng, L. Lin, S. Wang, Z. Chen, F. Li, Y. Pan, F. Zheng, C. Chai. AnalyticDB: Real-time OLAP Database System at Alibaba Cloud. VLDB 2019.
  • L. Yang, H. Wu, T. Zhang, X. Cheng, F. Li, L. Zou, Y. Wang, R. Chen, J. Wang, G. Huang. Leaper: A Learned Prefetcher for Cache Invalidation in LSM-tree based Storage Engines. VLDB 2020.
  • W. Cao, Y. Liu, Z. Cheng, N. Zheng, W. Li, W. Wu, L. Ouyang, P. Wang, Y. Wang, R. Kuan, Z. Liu, F. Zhu, T. POLARDB Meets Computational Storage: Efficiently Support Analytical Workloads in Cloud-Native Relational Database. Zhang. FAST 2020.
  • J. Tan, T. Zhang, F. Li, J. Chen, Q. Zheng, P. Zhang, H. Qiao, Y. Shi, W. Cao, R. Zhang. iBTune: Individualized Buffer Tuning for Largescale Cloud Databases. VLDB 2019.
  • F. Li. Cloud Native Database Systems: Challenges and Opportunities. VLDB 2019.
  • G. Huang, X. Cheng, J. Wang, Y. Wang, D. He, T. Zhang, F. Li, S. Wang, W. Cao, Q. Li. X-Engine: An Optimized Storage Engine for Large-Scale E-Commerce Transaction Processing. SIGMOD 2019
  • W. Cao, Z. Liu, P. Wang, S. Chen, C. Zhu, S. Zheng, Y. Wang, G. Ma. PolarFS: An Ultra-low Latency and Failure Resilient Distributed File System for Shared Storage Cloud Database. VLDB 2018.
  • W. Cao, Y. Gao, B. Lin, X. Feng, Y. Xie, X. Lou, P. Wang. TcpRT: Instrument and Diagnostic Analysis System for Service Quality of Cloud Databases at Massive Scale in Real-time. SIGMOD 2018
  • W. Cao, F. Yu, J. Xie. Realization of the Low Cost and High Performance MySQL Cloud Database. VLDB 2014
展开更多

扫描二维码
关注阿里技术微信公众号

Research Focus
  • Online Transaction Processing (OLTP) and Hybrid Transactional/Analytical Processing (HTAP) Engines

In single-node architectures, the lab uses storage and state sharing technologies to store data across multiple nodes, allowing single-node systems to scale up for transactional processing. In multi-node cluster architectures, the lab allows users to create distributed databases by means of sharding, enabling a cluster to scale out for transactional processing. The HTAP engine uses GTM to adjust transaction concurrency and control the consistency of data read and write to allow both transactional and analytical processing on the same data.

  • Multi-modal Online Analytical Processing (OLAP), NoSQL, and NewSQL Database Systems

In scenarios that involve complex and content-rich multi-modal data, database systems are required to perform query fusion, integration, and cleansing of such structured, semi-structured, and unstructured data to extract and process structured features. This requires the lab to continuously improve the applicability, performance, and efficiency of NoSQL, NewSQL, and OLAP systems.

  • Data Security and Database System Security

A challenge for traditional security protection measures, such as access control and SQL injection prevention, is the improvement of system security and data protection without compromising the performance of database systems. To improve both security and efficiency of database systems, the lab continuously improves the key technologies of database systems, such as encrypted data query and update (based on homomorphic encryption), oblivious random access, and differential privacy. The rapid development of security hardware has brought new opportunities to improve the security of database systems. For example, users can use security hardware such as Intel SGX to create a new encrypted database system.

  • Autonomous and Intelligent Databases

The lab analyzes the system operating status and log data to prepare for system modeling based on machine learning technologies. These technologies can dynamically tune system parameters and optimize systems to reduce the O&M costs of system DBAs. The use of these technologies on key database system modules, such as the query optimizer, makes it possible to evolve from rule-based optimization to cost-based optimization, and then to machine learning-based optimization. Machine learning technologies can also help implement more accurate and efficient online warning and real-time monitoring mechanisms to intelligently manage O&M tasks performed by DBAs and allocate resources. In addition, analytical modeling of large amounts of structured, semi-structured, and unstructured data has called for the research on the implementation of intelligent database systems for deep data analysis.

  • New Hardware Acceleration and Data Storage

To maximize the performance of database systems, the lab focuses on the R&D of a heterogeneous computing architecture that combines benefits of CPUs, GPUs, and FPGAs. When optimizing multi-core and high-concurrency data query and analysis tasks, developers must take note of the system hardware architecture (such as the NUMA architecture), reduce data transfer, and implement a paradigm shift from computing-centric to data-centric in storage systems. New hardware applications such as NVM and RDMA have also spawned new data storage and management technologies that require system designers to consider the separation of storage and computing.

  • Fundamental Database Algorithms and Structures

Various levels of database system designs are faced with challenges on fundamental algorithms and datastructure such as concurrency control, data processing, system scheduling, approximate query processing (AQP), unstructured data analysis, and feature extraction. Algorithm design ideas and the operating status and features of database systems must all be considered to address these challenges. This gives rise to new challenges and requirements in the construction of the fundamental algorithms and data structures.


Products and Applications
  • Application in areas such as postal service and real estate

    The lab has helped Vanke and China Post substantially improve the overall storage and computing capacity of their databases by using core capabilities such as the scalability of distributed databases. The lab has also supported the core business systems’ upgrades of these two companies by deploying the horizontal and vertical fragmentation provided by the distributed transaction processing engine. And the database operation and maintenance costs are significantly reduced.

  • Technical Support for Major National Projects

    The Database and Storage Lab supports major national projects in the public and private cloud domains, such as Shanghai City Brain and National Tax projects.


Research Team
Feifei LiHead of Database and Storage Lab

Feifei Li is a tenured professor of Computer Science at University of Utah. He is a recipient of numerous awards and honors from ACM, IEEE, Visa, Google, HP, and Huawei, which include the IEEE ICDE 2014 10 The Most Influential Papers Award, ACM SIGMOD 2016 Best Paper Award, ACM SIGMOD 2015 Best System Presentation Award, IEEE ICDE 2004 Best Paper Award, US NSF Career Award, NSFC Oversea Collaboration Grant, and ACM Distinguished Member in 2018. He has served as a member of the editorial board and the chairman of many leading international academic journals and conferences.

Jason WuSenior Principal Engineer of Database and Storage Lab

Jason Wu holds a PhD of Computer Science from Ohio State University. He joined Alibaba Seattle in 2014, and currently leads the development of storage infrastructure and cloud storage services. Before joining Alibaba, he was a principal manager in the Microsoft Azure storage team from 2008 to 2014, a senior manager at Ask.com from 2004 to 2008, and a research engineer at the Institute of Computing Technology of Chinese Academy of Science (National Research Center for Intelligent Computing Systems) from 1996 to 1999. His research fields include large-scale distributed systems and big data processing and analysis systems.

Wei CaoPrincipal Engineer of Database and Storage Lab

Wei Cao leads the Alibaba Cloud database team and is a member of CCF Technical Committee on Databases. He has published several articles in international academic conferences and journals such as SIGMOD, VLDB, and TSC. His research fields include distributed database and storage systems and large-scale real-time computing.

Windsor HsuPrincipal Engineer of Database and Storage Lab

Windsor Hsu holds a PhD of Computer Science from University of California at Berkeley. He previously served as the Chief Technology Officer of EMC Data Domain. He established the research group for the Backup Recovery Systems Division of EMC and was an EMC Distinguished Engineer. Before joining Data Domain, he was an IBM Master Inventor at IBM Almaden Research Center where he led and managed research on database and storage technologies. He has published over 30 research papers in storage-related fields and has been awarded more than 100 patents.

Chaoqun ZhanPrincipal Engineer of Database and Storage Lab

Chaoqun Zhan serves as the general manager of the OLAP product line at Database Products Business Unit, Alibaba Cloud Intelligence. He developed the large-scale online data analysis products AnalyticDB and Data Lake Analytics from scratch. With many years of experience in R&D of platforms for analysis of large amounts of data, he has served as a chief architect for several commercial big data projects of Alibaba Cloud and Apsara Stack.

Jian TanSenior staff engineer of Damo Institute of Alibaba

He was a research scientist at the IBM T.J. Watson research center and then a tenure-track assistant professor at the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department of The Ohio State University. His work was supported by NSF and won four best paper awards. He received M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Columbia University with the Eliahu Jury Award for the best PhD thesis, and a B.S. degree from University of Science and Technology of China, all in Electrical Engineering. His research interests focus on stochastic modeling and statistical algorithms for distributed systems.

Jiong XieDirector of The Aerospace Database Team

Jiong Xie leads the aerospace database team and is a member of CCF Technical Committee on Databases. He once engaged in postdoctoral research at Zhejiang University, and later worked as an associate researcher at the State Key Laboratory of Resources and Environmental Information System of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. His research interests focus on the R&D of spatial database, remote sensing image database, moving objects database and NoSQL spatial distributed system.

Sheng WangResearch Scientist of Database and Storage Lab

Sheng Wang holds a PhD of Computer Science from National University of Singapore. Before joining Alibaba, he was a research fellow at Database System Lab, National University of Singapore. He has published papers in top academic conferences and journals in database-related fields, such as VLDB. His research focuses on the design and optimization of large-scale data management systems, which include distributed database systems, data analysis platforms, and blockchain systems.


Academic Achievements
Paper
  • AnalyticDB-V: A Hybrid Analytical Engine towards Query Fusion for Structured and Unstructured Data, by C. Wei, B. Wu, S. Wang, R. Lou, C. Zhan, F. Li, Y. Cai. VLDB 2020
  • LedgerDB: A Centralized Ledger Database for Universal Audit and Verification, by X. Yang, Y. Zhang, S. Wang, B. Yu, F. Li, Y. Li, W. Yan. VLDB 2020
  • Diagnosing Root Causes of Intermittent Slow Queries in Cloud Databases, by M. Ma, Z. Yin, S. Zhang, S. Wang, C. Zheng, X. Jiang, H. Hu, C. Luo, Y. Li, N. Qiu, F. Li, C. Chen, D. Pei. VLDB 2020
  • Timon: A Timestamped Event Database for Efficient Telemetry Data Processing and Analytics, by W. Cao, Y. Gao, F. Li, S. Wang, B. Lin, K. Xu, X. Feng, Y. Wang, Z. Liu, G. Zhang. SIGMOD 2020
  • Two-Level Data Compression using Machine Learning in Time Series Database, by X. Yu, Y. Peng, F. Li, S. Wang, X. Shen, H. Mai, Y. Xie. ICDE 2020
  • FPGA-Accelerated Compactions for LSM-based Key-Value Store, by T. Zhang, J. Wang, X. Cheng, H. Xu, N. Yu, G. Huang, T. Zhang, D. He, F. Li, W. Cao, Z. Huang, J. Sun. FAST 2020
  • HotRing: A Hotspot-Aware In-Memory Key-Value Store, by J. Chen, L. Chen, S. Wang, G. Zhu, Y. Sun, H. Liu, F. Li. FAST 2020
  • POLARDB Meets Computational Storage: Efficiently Support Analytical Workloads in Cloud-Native Relational Database, by W. Cao, Y. Liu, Z. Cheng, N. Zheng, W. Li, W. Wu, L. Ouyang, P. Wang, Y. Wang, R. Kuan, Z. Liu, F. Zhu, T. Zhang. FAST 2020
  • Leaper: A Learned Prefetcher for Cache Invalidation in LSM-tree based Storage Engines, by L. Yang, H. Wu, T. Zhang, X. Cheng, F. Li, L. Zou, Y. Wang, R. Chen, J. Wang, G. Huang. VLDB 2020
  • Realization of the Low Cost and High Performance MySQL Cloud Database, by W. Cao, F. Yu, J. Xie. VLDB 2014
  • TcpRT: Instrument and Diagnostic Analysis System for Service Quality of Cloud Databases at Massive Scale in Real-time, by W. Cao, Y. Gao, B. Lin, X. Feng, Y. Xie, X. Lou, P. Wang. SIGMOD 2018
  • PolarFS: An Ultra-low Latency and Failure Resilient Distributed File System for Shared Storage Cloud Database, by W. Cao, Z. Liu, P. Wang, S. Chen, C. Zhu, S. Zheng, Y. Wang, G. Ma. VLDB 2018
  • X-Engine: An Optimized Storage Engine for Large-Scale E-Commerce Transaction Processing, by G. Huang, X. Cheng, J. Wang, Y. Wang, D. He, T. Zhang, F. Li, S. Wang, W. Cao, Q. Li. SIGMOD 2019
  • X-Engine: An Optimized Storage Engine for Large-Scale E-Commerce Transaction Processing, by G. Huang, X. Cheng, J. Wang, Y. Wang, D. He, T. Zhang, F. Li, S. Wang, W. Cao, Q. Li. SIGMOD 2019
  • iBTune: Individualized Buffer Tuning for Largescale Cloud Databases, by J. Tan, T. Zhang, F. Li, J. Chen, Q. Zheng, P. Zhang, H. Qiao, Y. Shi, W. Cao, R. Zhang. VLDB 2019
  • AnalyticDB: Real-time OLAP Database System at Alibaba Cloud, by C. Zhan, M. Su, C. Wei, X. Peng, L. Lin, S. Wang, Z. Chen, F. Li, Y. Pan, F. Zheng, C. Chai. VLDB 2019
  • Cloud Native Database Systems: Challenges and Opportunities, by F. Li. VLDB 2019
  • Cao, Wei and Yu, Feng and Xie, Jiasen, Realization of the Low Cost and High Performance MySQL Cloud Database, VLDB 2014
Expand

Scan QR code
关注Ali TechnologyWechat Account