研究方向
  • 环境感知

研究多传感器协同感知及融合技术,实现自动驾驶汽车对周围环境的关键信息收集和知识提取,其中包括可行驶区域、车道线、交通标志、交通灯、车辆、行人及所有障碍物的检测识别,车辆,行人等障碍物的位姿,运动状态等的预测;通过合理的多传感器布局配置方案来确保车周围360度覆盖和关键区域的增强覆盖;通过安全冗余设计的软件系统方案来保障车辆周围环境信息的准确感知,进而确保自动驾驶汽车的安全稳定运行。

  • 高精定位

探索基于高精度地图的高精智能定位技术,构建物理世界和数字世界的准确映射,为自动驾驶汽车提供精准的交通元素,POI等场景信息。研究云端的多源融合定位技术,搭建融合与处理的云平台,将车与人,车与车连接起来,形成一个动态的位置网络。这个网络在为自动驾驶提供位置服务的同时,也支持基于精确位置的数据收集和回传,对高精度地图进行在线更新,全面提升定位系统的准确性,可靠性和智能性。

  • 决策规划

决策规划分为驾驶决策系统和运动规划系统。驾驶决策系统通过大量实测的高精度交通流数据分析,探寻人类驾驶行为的本质机理,挖掘出最优的行为模型和参数,保证在线驾驶行为的最优化。运动规划系统在有限的计算资源下,搜索成千上万可能的运行轨迹,并根据周边环境信息挑选最优轨迹,实现自动驾驶的平稳行驶。

  • 智能控制

主要包含横向控制和纵向控制两个方面。横向控制主要研究自动驾驶汽车的路径跟踪能力,即如何控制车辆沿规划的路径行驶,并保证车辆的行驶安全性,平稳性。纵向控制主要是控制车辆速度跟踪能力,控制车辆按照预定的速度巡航。

  • 自动驾驶仿真平台

由交通智能体系统,场景编辑生成系统,虚拟世界渲染系统,大规模服务器部署系统组成。交通智能体系统通过大量的交通数据抽取逼真的行为模型,仿真车辆,行人等物体行为;场景编辑生成系统支持各种极端场景的编辑和类似场景的生成,实现对自动驾驶算法的压力测试;虚拟世界渲染系统将仿真场景进行可视化渲染,提高分析问题的直观感觉;大规模服务器部署系统提高仿真的规模和效率,实现每年上亿公里的仿真测试;仿真平台为自动驾驶的测试节省大量时间和费用,极大降低了测试风险,随机模拟各种极端复杂场景,实现全面的测试覆盖。

  • 数据平台

生产数据平台,数据生产流程化以及监控。为感知采集丰富的数据,以提高自动驾驶整车鲁棒性。研究如何建立高效的标注系统,减小标注的成本,提高效率和标注结果的准确率;研究如何更有效的监控车辆运行的状态和问题,以及把数据更加合理可视化;探索实际数据和仿真数据结合的过程提供结构化,半结构化,非结构化多种类型的数据整合,集成与索引。

  • 车路协同

通过车与路之间的协同合作,构建“车 - 路 - 云”三位一体的全新模式研究开发路侧端的多传感器感知,多模态数据融合与处理,低功耗边缘计算,中短距直连通信等技术,打造全新的路侧智能设备,为交通工具提供实时数据服务,并为云端提供全面的交通信息基础数据。


产品及应用
  • 智能物流车

    深度参与国家智能物流骨干网络的建设,通过部署智能物流车队、智能感知基站以及铺设云端服务,构建起连接城际间物流仓储以及城市内配送中转站点的庞大网络,最大化利用不同时段下的道路资源,实现智能、精准、快速、安全、环保的货物流转与投递。


研究团队
王刚达摩院智能交通实验室负责人

伊利诺伊大学香槟分校博士,曾任新加坡南洋理工大学终身教授。全球MIT TR35获奖者,人工智能顶尖期刊IEEE TPAMI编委,ICCV 2017和CVPR 2018领域主席。研究领域包括深度学习及其在计算机视觉、自动驾驶上的应用。

陈颖达摩院智能交通实验室研究员

芬兰坦佩雷工业大学计算机与电气工程博士。北京大学应用数学学士和电气工程与计算机硕士。MPEG国际视频编码标准(H.264/AVC,H.265/HEVC系列)联席主编。IEEE高级会员,任IEEE电路与系统协会中多个技术委员会委员。曾在高通美国担任首席工程师及总监级经理,从事与多媒体编解码及传输、计算机视觉和边缘计算相关的研发工作。在图像与视频处理、计算机视觉领域发表的专著被引用6,000次以上。曾获高通知识产权成就奖。


学术成果
论文
  • Jiuxiang Gu, Jianfei Cai, Shafiq Joty, Li Niu, Gang Wang. Look, Imagine and Match: Improving Textual-Visual Cross-Modal Retrieval with Generative Models. CVPR, 2018. Spotlight
  • Ping Hu, Gang Wang, Xiangfei Kong, Jason Kuen,Yap-Peng Tan. Motion-Guided Cascaded Refinement Network for Video Object Segmentation. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jason Kuen, Xiangfei Kong, Zhe Lin, Gang Wang, Jianxiong Yin, Simon See, Yap-Peng Tan. Stochastic Downsampling for Cost-Adjustable Inference and Improved Regularization in Convolutional Networks. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jianlou Si, Honggang Zhang, Chun-Guang Li, Jason Kuen, Xiangfei Kong, Alex C. Kot, Gang Wang. Dual Attention Matching Network for Context-Aware Feature Sequence based Person Re-Identifcation. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jun Liu, Amir Shahroudy, Gang Wang, Ling-Yu Duan, Alex C. Kot. SSNet: Scale Selection Network for Online 3D Action Prediction. CVPR, 2018. Spotlight
  • Henghui Ding, Xudong Jiang, Bing Shuai, Ai Qun Liu, Gang Wang. Context Contrasted Feature and Gated Multi-scale Aggregation for Scene Segmentation. CVPR, 2018. Oral
  • Yicheng Wang, Zhenzhong Chen, Feng Wu, Gang Wang. Person Re-identification with Cascaded Pairwise Convolutions. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Lu Zhang, Ju Dai, Huchuan Lu, You He, Gang Wang. A Bi-directional Message Passing Model for Salient Object Detection. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Xiaoning Zhang, Tiantian Wang, Jinqing Qi, Huchuan Lu, Gang Wang. Progressive Attention Guided Recurrent Network for Salient Object Detection.CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jiuxiang Gu, Jianfei Cai, Gang Wang, Tsuhan Chen. Stack-Captioning: Coarse-to-Fine Learning for Image Captioning. AAAI, 2018. Oral
  • Rana Hanocka, Noa Fish, Zhenhua Wang, Raja Giryes, Shachar Fleishman, Daniel Cohen-Or. ALIGNet: Partial-Shape Agnostic Alignment via Unsupervised Learning. ACM Transactions on Graphics (TOG),2018.
  • Bin Wang, Guofeng Wang, Andrei Sharf, Yangyan Li, Fan Zhong, Xueying Qin, Daniel Cohen-Or, Baoquan Chen. Active Assembly Guidance with Online Video Parsing. IEEE VR, 2018.
  • Gang Zhang, Hu Han, Shiguang Shan, Xingguang Song, Xilin Chen. Face Alignment across Large Pose via MT-CNN based 3D Shape Reconstruction. FG, 2018.
  • Gang Zhang, Meina Kan, Shiguang Shan, Xilin Chen. Generative Adversarial Network with Spatial Attention for Face Attribute Editing. ECCV, 2018.
  • Jun Liu and Gang Wang. Global Context-Aware LSTM Networks for 3D Action Recognition. CVPR, 2017.
  • Ping Hu, Bing Shuai, Gang Wang. Deep Level Sets for Salient Object Detection. CVPR, 2017.
  • Abrar Abdulnabi, Bing Shuai, Gang Wang. Episodic CAMN: Contextual Attention-based Memory Networks for Scene Labeling. CVPR, 2017.
  • Jiuxiang Gu, Gang Wang, Jianfei Cai, and Tsuhan Chen. An Empirical Study of Language CNN for Image Captioning. ICCV, 2017.
  • Zhenhua Wang, Jiuxiang Gu, Jason Kuen, Lianyang Ma, Amir Shahroudy, Bing Shuai, Ting Liu, Xingxing Wang and Gang Wang. Recent Advances in Convolutional Neural Networks. Pattern Recognition (PR), 2017.
  • Zhenhua Wang, Xingxing Wang, Gang Wang. Learning Fine-grained features via a CNN tree for Large-scale Classification. Neurocomputing, 2017.
  • Zhenwei Miao, Kim-Hui Yap, Xudong Jiang, Subbhuraam Sinduja, Zhenhua Wang. Laplace Gradient based Discriminative and Contrast Invertible Descriptor. ICASSP, March 2017.
  • Amir Shahroudy, Tian-Tsong Ng, Yihong Gong, and Gang Wang. Deep Multimodal Feature Analysis for Action Recognition in RGB+D Videos. IEEE.
  • Mingliang Chen, Qingxiong Yang, Qing Li, Gang Wang, and Ming-Hsuan Yang. Spatiotemporal Background Subtraction. IEEE.
  • Bing Shuai, Zhen Zuo, Bing Wang, ang Gang Wang. Scene Segmentation with DAG-Recurrent Neural Networks. IEEE.
  • Jun Liu, Amir Shahroudy, Dong Xu, Alex Kot Chichung, and Gang Wang. Skeleton-Based Action Recognition Using Spatio-Temporal LSTM Network with Trust Gates. IEEE.
展开更多

联系我们
E-mail: ning.cai@alibaba-inc.com

扫描二维码
关注阿里技术微信公众号

Research Focus
  • Environmental Perception

Multi-sensor cooperative sensing and fusion technologies are studied to achieve the key information collection and knowledge extraction for autonomous vehicles, which include the detection and identification of drivable areas, lane lines, traffic signs, traffic lights, other vehicles, people and obstacles as well as the prediction ofposition and motion. Our technology exploits an appropriate multi-sensor layout to fulfill the 360-degree coverage and the enhanced coverage effect for key areas. Moreover, we also design a software system with safety redundancy design to ensurethe accuracy of surroundings perception and eventually achieve the safety and stability of driving.

  • High-precision Localization

High-precision intelligent localization based on high-precision maps and exactmappings between physical world and digital world will provide the accurate traffic elements, POI, and other surrounding information for autonomous vehicles. Thus, we study the new positioning technology of multi-source fusion in the cloud, build up the cloud platform for information fusion and processing, and eventually establish a dynamic location network to connect “vehicle to human” and “vehicle to vehicle”. This network not only provides the location services for autonomous driving, but also supports the data collection and backhaul with accurate location to online update the high-precision maps, which dramatically improves the accuracy, reliability, and intelligence of the localization system. 

  • Decision and Planning

The studies on decision and planning can be divided into two parts: driving decision-making system and motion planning system. The driving decision-making system is to explore the nature mechanism of human’s driving behaviors, train the optimal behavior model and parameters, and optimize the online driving behavior through the analysis of high volume real-life high-precision traffic data. Moreover, with consideration of the limited computing resource, the motion planning system is to search thousands of possible trajectories to choose the best one based on the surrounding environment information, which achieves better and more steady driving experience. 

  • Smart Control

Smart control consists of horizontal control and vertical control. Horizontal control helps to improve autonomous vehicles’ path tracking ability, i.e., control the vehicles to safely and steadily drive along the planned way. On the other hand, vertical control manages autonomous vehicles’ speed tracking ability to let them cruise at the predefined speed.

  • Autonomous Driving Simulation Platform

The simulation platform consists of four parts:(1)Traffic intelligent system is to extract realistic behavioral models from large traffic data, and simulate the behaviors of vehicles, pedestrians and other objects.(2)Scene editing and generation system is to edit various extreme scenarios and generate the similar scenarios, which can fulfill the stress test on the autonomous driving algorithm.(3)Rendering system for virtual world is to visualize the simulated scenarios and improve the intuitive feeling of problem analysis.(4)Large-scale server deployment system targets on improving the scalability and efficiency of simulation, which can fulfill the simulation test for hundreds of millions of kilometers per year.

The simulation platform enables to save huge time and cost on autonomous driving test and greatly reduce the test risks. It can randomly simulate various extreme scenarios and cover all the tests.

  • Data Platform

Data platform collects abundant data for perception to improve the robustness of autonomous driving. Our studies focus on the following aspects:(1)how to build an efficient labeling system to reduce the labeling cost and improve the labeling efficiency and accuracy;(2)how to effectively monitor the vehicle’ status and problem and how to appropriately visualize the data.(3)how to combine the actual data and simulated data. The objective is to provide the integration and index of structured, semi-structured, and unstructured data.

  • Cooperative Vehicle-Infrastructure Systems (CVIS)

Cooperative vehicle-infrastructure system constructs a new model of “vehicle-road-cloud”. Thus, we target to study the frontier road technologies, i.e., multi-sensor perception, multi-modal data fusion and processing, low power edge computing and direct communications for medium and short range, as well as implement a brand-new intelligent device to provide the real-time data services for vehicles and offer the traffic information for the cloud.


Products and Applications
  • Intelligent Driving

    The Intelligent Transportation Lab participates in the construction of national intelligent logistics backbone networks. It works on building a huge logistics network to connect different cities and various in-transit warehouses and maximizing the utilization of road resource at different time periods, which eventually facilitates the smart, accurate, fast, safe, and green circulation and delivery for goods.

     


Research Team
Gang WangHead of Intelligent Transportation Lab

He holds a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and is a top expert in machine learning and computer vision. His research fields include deep learning and its application in computer vision, natural language processing, and voice recognition. Before joining Alibaba, he was a professor at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. He is a global MIT TR35 winner, a member of the editorial board of the leading artificial intelligence magazine named IEEE TPAMI, and an area chair of ICCV 2017 and CVPR 2018.

Ying ChenPrinciple Engineer of Intelligent Transportation Lab

He received his Ph.D in Computing and Electrical Engineering from Tampere University of Technology, Finland and both BS. and MS. from Peking University. Dr. Chen has served as a co-editor of MPEG video coding standard specifications (the extensions of H.264/AVC and H.265/HEVC). He is a senior member of IEEE and has been a member of several technical committees of IEEE Circuit and Systems (CAS) society. Before joining Alibaba, Dr. Chen was a principal engineer and manager (director level) of Qualcomm, San Diego, CA, USA, working on multimedia coding and transmission, computer vision and edge computing. His publications got more than 6,000 citations.He is a winner of Qualcomm IP Achievement Award.


Academic Achievements
Paper
  • Jiuxiang Gu, Jianfei Cai, Shafiq Joty, Li Niu, Gang Wang. Look, Imagine and Match: Improving Textual-Visual Cross-Modal Retrieval with Generative Models. CVPR, 2018. Spotlight
  • Ping Hu, Gang Wang, Xiangfei Kong, Jason Kuen,Yap-Peng Tan. Motion-Guided Cascaded Refinement Network for Video Object Segmentation. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jason Kuen, Xiangfei Kong, Zhe Lin, Gang Wang, Jianxiong Yin, Simon See, Yap-Peng Tan. Stochastic Downsampling for Cost-Adjustable Inference and Improved Regularization in Convolutional Networks. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jianlou Si, Honggang Zhang, Chun-Guang Li, Jason Kuen, Xiangfei Kong, Alex C. Kot, Gang Wang. Dual Attention Matching Network for Context-Aware Feature Sequence based Person Re-Identifcation. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jun Liu, Amir Shahroudy, Gang Wang, Ling-Yu Duan, Alex C. Kot. SSNet: Scale Selection Network for Online 3D Action Prediction. CVPR, 2018. Spotlight
  • Henghui Ding, Xudong Jiang, Bing Shuai, Ai Qun Liu, Gang Wang. Context Contrasted Feature and Gated Multi-scale Aggregation for Scene Segmentation. CVPR, 2018. Oral
  • Yicheng Wang, Zhenzhong Chen, Feng Wu, Gang Wang. Person Re-identification with Cascaded Pairwise Convolutions. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Lu Zhang, Ju Dai, Huchuan Lu, You He, Gang Wang. A Bi-directional Message Passing Model for Salient Object Detection. CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Xiaoning Zhang, Tiantian Wang, Jinqing Qi, Huchuan Lu, Gang Wang. Progressive Attention Guided Recurrent Network for Salient Object Detection.CVPR, 2018. Poster
  • Jiuxiang Gu, Jianfei Cai, Gang Wang, Tsuhan Chen. Stack-Captioning: Coarse-to-Fine Learning for Image Captioning. AAAI, 2018. Oral
  • Rana Hanocka, Noa Fish, Zhenhua Wang, Raja Giryes, Shachar Fleishman, Daniel Cohen-Or. ALIGNet: Partial-Shape Agnostic Alignment via Unsupervised Learning. ACM Transactions on Graphics (TOG),2018.
  • Bin Wang, Guofeng Wang, Andrei Sharf, Yangyan Li, Fan Zhong, Xueying Qin, Daniel Cohen-Or, Baoquan Chen. Active Assembly Guidance with Online Video Parsing. IEEE VR, 2018.
  • Gang Zhang, Hu Han, Shiguang Shan, Xingguang Song, Xilin Chen. Face Alignment across Large Pose via MT-CNN based 3D Shape Reconstruction. FG, 2018.
  • Gang Zhang, Meina Kan, Shiguang Shan, Xilin Chen. Generative Adversarial Network with Spatial Attention for Face Attribute Editing. ECCV, 2018.
  • Jun Liu and Gang Wang. Global Context-Aware LSTM Networks for 3D Action Recognition. CVPR, 2017.
  • Ping Hu, Bing Shuai, Gang Wang. Deep Level Sets for Salient Object Detection. CVPR, 2017.
  • Abrar Abdulnabi, Bing Shuai, Gang Wang. Episodic CAMN: Contextual Attention-based Memory Networks for Scene Labeling. CVPR, 2017.
  • Jiuxiang Gu, Gang Wang, Jianfei Cai, and Tsuhan Chen. An Empirical Study of Language CNN for Image Captioning. ICCV, 2017.
  • Zhenhua Wang, Jiuxiang Gu, Jason Kuen, Lianyang Ma, Amir Shahroudy, Bing Shuai, Ting Liu, Xingxing Wang and Gang Wang. Recent Advances in Convolutional Neural Networks. Pattern Recognition (PR), 2017.
  • Zhenhua Wang, Xingxing Wang, Gang Wang. Learning Fine-grained features via a CNN tree for Large-scale Classification. Neurocomputing, 2017.
  • Zhenwei Miao, Kim-Hui Yap, Xudong Jiang, Subbhuraam Sinduja, Zhenhua Wang. Laplace Gradient based Discriminative and Contrast Invertible Descriptor. ICASSP, March 2017.
  • Amir Shahroudy, Tian-Tsong Ng, Yihong Gong, and Gang Wang. Deep Multimodal Feature Analysis for Action Recognition in RGB+D Videos. IEEE.
  • Mingliang Chen, Qingxiong Yang, Qing Li, Gang Wang, and Ming-Hsuan Yang. Spatiotemporal Background Subtraction. IEEE.
  • Bing Shuai, Zhen Zuo, Bing Wang, ang Gang Wang. Scene Segmentation with DAG-Recurrent Neural Networks. IEEE.
  • Jun Liu, Amir Shahroudy, Dong Xu, Alex Kot Chichung, and Gang Wang. Skeleton-Based Action Recognition Using Spatio-Temporal LSTM Network with Trust Gates. IEEE.
Expand

Contact Us
E-mail: ning.cai@alibaba-inc.com

Scan QR code
关注Ali TechnologyWechat Account